January 7, 2013

Cover Story

CEO of the Year

Utah’s business landscape is rich with professionals who have le...Read More

Featured Articles

Did you go Skiing this winter?

Around Utah


Martin Plaehn

Karen Sendelback

Legal Briefs
Social Media and Employers: Friends or Enemies?

Money Talk
The Case for HSAs

Economic Insight
Time to Show Up

Lessons Learned
Make a Move

In the Lab

Rent to Own

Business Trends
Back from the Dead

Living Well
Artful Inspiration

A Breath of Fresh Air

Worst-Case Scenario

Regional Report
Northern Utah

Measure Up

Industry Outlook
Travel & Tourism



Science, Tech Leaders to be Honored

Press Release

January 7, 2013

Gov. Gary R. Herbert, along with the State Science Advisor and the State Advisory Council on Science and Technology, announced the 2012 winners of the Governor’s Medals for Science and Technology.

“Utah was built on a heritage of innovation. We have the pleasure of recognizing the leaders who strengthen this foundation,” Herbert said. “The tireless efforts of these innovative individuals continue to accelerate Utah’s economy.”

The Governor’s Medals for Science and Technology are awarded to residents and companies who have provided distinguished service and/or made significant contributions toward advancing scientific knowledge, education and industry in Utah and the nation.

Medals are awarded in fields of academia, science education, industry and government. This year’s recipients are:


Dr. Thure Cerling, professor of geology and geophysics at the University of Utah. Cerling has advanced geological, hydrological and nuclear waste science in Utah.
Dr. David Kieda, University of Utah professor and physics department chair. Kieda pioneered techniques for observing high-energy cosmic rays.  
Dr. Geraldine Mineau, investigator and research professor in the oncological sciences department at the University of Utah and the Huntsman Cancer Institute. Mineau developed a one of a kind genetic research tool for human disease.

Science Education category:

Dr. Adam Johnston, professor of physics at Weber State University. Johnston is the founder of “Science Education at the Crossroads."
Amy Pace, science department chair at the Open High School of Utah. Pace is the science curriculum developer for the Open High School of Utah.

Industry category:

Dr. Theodore Stanley, managing director of Upstart and founder of Anesta and ZARS. The Stanley Research Foundation has donated more than $5 million dollars to the University of Utah and other universities.
Ceramatec, is a pioneer in research and development in oxygen and hydrogen generation systems.

Government category:

Ted McAleer, executive director of Utah Science Technology and Research initiative (USTAR). In six years, McAleer has grown USTAR from an idea to a fully functioning innovation driver for Utah’s economy.
Nicole Toomey Davis, CEO of Enclavix LLC and former director of the Centers of Excellence Program/Technology Commercialization and Innovation Program. Davis was instrumental in the enhancement of the Centers of Excellence Program and the development of the Utah Fund of Funds.

Lifetime achievement:

Scott Anderson, president and CEO of Zions Bank. Anderson has worked to create more high paying jobs in Utah. He also led the vision and charge to create the Utah Science Technology and Research initiative.

The award ceremony is Jan. 17 from 5 to 8:30 p.m. at the Discovery Gateway children’s museum.

Utah Business Social
UB Events View All
Community Events View All

info@utahbusiness.com  |  90 South 400 West, Ste 650 Salt Lake City, Utah 84101   |  (801) 568-0114

Advertise with Utah Business

Submit an Event

* indicates required information
* Event Name:
Price (general):
Website (if applicable):
Coordinator's Name:
Coordinator's Email:
Coordinator's Phone:
Venue Name:
Venue Address:
Venue City:
Venue Zip:
Event Capacity:
* Event Description: